Le Kenya

Le nom “Kenya” est synonyme d’aventures qui nous font rêver. C’est la terre qu’Ernest Hemingway a rendue célèbre avec ”The Green Hills of Africa” la terre le plus souvent associée avec le safari et la chasse aux grands fauves. Mais, aujourd’hui, les safaris sont armés d’appareils photos non pas de fusils. Le Kenya, pays d’une beauté sans pareille et de grand contraste, est une république indépendante et, tout comme le Canada, est membre du Commonwealth.

Rolling hills of tea in Kenya

 

Situé en Afrique orientale, de chaque côté de l’équateur, et bordée à l’Est par l’océan indien, ce pays a une superficie totale de 224 960 milles carrés (582 646 kilomètres carrés) et une population de plus de 12 millions d’habitants.

Le Kenya est devenu indépendant en 1973 avec Jomo Kenyatta, qui est aussi l’auteur du livre bien connu intitulé, Facing Mt. Kenya (livres Vintage, N.Y., 1965) dans lequel il discute du passé et de l’avenir de ce pays. Ce titre rappelle, naturellement, le fameux Mont Kenya recouvert de neiges éternelles, bien qu’il soit situé à proximité de l’équateur.

Le thé a été introduit au Kenya en 1903 par G.W.L. Caine et l’exploitation commerciale commença au cours des années 1930. Malgré un ralentissement en 1933, dû à un marché faible, le thé est aujourd’hui une des plus importantes cultures commerciales.

Le Kenya possède à la fois de vastes et de petites exploitations. Hissé au premier rang des producteurs africains de thé en quadruplant ses exportations au cours de la dernière décennie, le Kenya est également un grand consommateur de cette boisson.

Tea fields in Kenya

 

Le Comité du thé du Kenya et l’Institut des recherches sur le thé travaillent constamment pour aider l’industrie et l’entrée de devises étrangères y contribuent également.

Event and Course Calendar

find a tea retailer button

Joignez-vous à l'Association du thé du Canada

Subscribe to the Tea Association of Canada's Tea Sommelier program updates

the perfect tea gift

Kenya

Kenya stirs adventurous and romantic thoughts. Made famous by Ernest Hemingway in “The Green Hill of Africa” – it is a land most associated with the safari and big game hunting. Today, the safaris are equipped with cameras not guns. A land of great beauty and great contrast Kenya is an independent republic and belongs, like Canada, to the Commonwealth of Nations.

Rolling hills of tea in Kenya

 

Situated in East Africa, astride the equator, it is bounded on the east by the Indian Ocean and has a total area of 224,960 square miles (528,646 square kilometers) and a population of over 12 million.

Kenya became independent in 1973 under the leadership of its first president, the late Jomo Kenyatta. Jomo Kenyatta also wrote a well known book entitled, Facing Mt.. Kenya (Vintage Books, N.Y., 1956). In it he discusses Kenya’s past and future. The book is named of course, for Kenya’s most famous landmark, Mt. Kenya which is snow capped the year around in spite of the fact that it is near the equator.

Tea was introduced to Kenya in 1903 by G.W.L. Canine and in the 1930′s commercial planting began. Although planting was cut back in 1933 because of a depressed market, tea is today one of Kenya’s most important cash crops.

In Kenya there are both large plantations and what are called smallholdings. Kenya is the largest producers of tea in Africa, and it has quadrupled its exports over the last decade. Tea is also one of the most important drinks in the country itself.

Tea fields in Kenya

 

The Tea Board of Kenya and the Tea Research Institute work constantly to help the industry, and the returns from the industry, help the country.

For more information visit AFFA Tea Directorate

Event and Course Calendar

find a tea retailer button

hire a tea sommelier

Tea for your health subscription button

Subscribe to the Tea Association of Canada's Tea Sommelier program updates

North American Tea Conference 2018